. home.aspx



UK Adds Five Countries To ePassport Gates

October 30, 2018 / Airwise

Delays at passport control at UK airports should ease from next summer as five more countries become eligible to use ePassport gates.Passengers from Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand and the United States in addition to British and EU nationals will be able to use the automatic gates from summer 2019.The changes will apply to an estimated 6 million international travellers arriving in the UK every year, the UK government said.Increasing the use of digital technology is part of our ambitious programme to improve the passenger experience and meet the challenge of increased passenger numbers, UK Immigration Minister Caroline Nokes said. Expanding the number of nationalities eligible to use ePassport gates supports this aim.